stephanielane2012

Eternal Rest in New Orleans

Hi all, I’m finally back. Sorry for the time away, funny how life can get in the way sometimes. I haven’t really been taking any photos so I thought I would write about one of my favorite places to visit –  old cemeteries. I love walking through old cemeteries and taking photographs.  I don’t visit modern cemeteries and I don’t want to look at a relative’s or friend’s grave marker. I want to remember people as they were when they were alive. I’ve already decided I’m not going to be buried in a cemetery. I have an organ donor card and then will be cremated and placed in a reef.

Now back to the subject of old cemeteries. They are scenic and restful (no pun intended) places, loaded with art and history and gaining in popularity every livelong (pun intended) day. Cemeteries are much more than places where people are buried. They are classrooms for those studying their cultures. They are outdoor art museums that provide one-stop shopping for art, history and nature, at an affordable price. That means free.

So on to the grist of this post. I lived in New Orleans (the West Bank) for about six months. I didn’t get to do a lot of sightseeing, but I did make it to the Metairie Cemetery.  Metairie Cemetery, established in 1872, should be on everyone’s list of places to visit because it documents the social, political, cultural and military history of New Orleans. It also has the distinction of being the only cemetery in America that once was a race course. The name has caused some people to mistakenly presume that the cemetery is located in Metairie, Louisiana, but it is located within the New Orleans city limits, on Metairie Road (and formerly on the banks of the since filled in Bayou Metairie). For a thorough explanation about the cemetery and some of  it’s famous and infamous “guests” go here.

Metairie Cemetery has the largest collection of elaborate marble tombs and funeral statuary in the city.  We spent most of the day wandering and driving around the cemetery. This place is ginormous!! It was raining off and on all day and I just had my little Nikon Cool Pix, so pictures aren’t as crisp as I’d like. Hopefully, I’ll get to go back and really spend some quality time.   Enjoy 🙂 and I hope the photos give you a brief glimpse of the actual beauty of this place.

 

This entry was published on February 29, 2012 at 6:03 pm. It’s filed under art history, cemeteries, civil war, lifestyle, Louisiana, New Orleans, Photography, southern living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Eternal Rest in New Orleans

  1. Don’t know how I missed this post, but how very haunting these captures are. It really is a fascinating place.

  2. Thank you, It is a fascinating place. You can spend hours and hours. I do hope I make it back :}

  3. I LOVE cemetaries!!!! Metaririe is like Disney Land to me! Thanks so much for sharing these great photos!

  4. new orleans is my favorite city and you do a perfect job of capturing why. i especially like the grave yard photos.

Comments are closed.

